IP 18 Douceur Chocolat

Tuesday was our last “real” lesson of Intermediate. The exam list came out on Monday, and during our last lesson we learnt how to make one of the twelve recipes featured on our exam list. The “Douceur Chocolat” cake is very similar to the Marquise, but I would argue even better (mostly due to the thick layer of praline crispy on the bottom). The Douceur Chocolat consists of a hazelnut dacquoise biscuit on the bottom with praline crispy spread on top. Then, it is filled halfway with chocolate mousse, after which we place a tempered milk chocolate disk on top, and fill the rest of the mould up with the remaining mousse. Finally, in a very similar way to the Marquise au Chocolat, we glaze the cake with a cocoa glaze.
Here is Chef Eric’s Douceur Chocolat.

479851_10152615345095713_286760910_n

My last practical went alright. My cake tasted delicious, and I managed to pour the mousse in quickly enough to keep the smooth creamy consistency. However, I wasn’t all too impressed with my glazing and décor… I’ve definitely had better days and would probably not use this design again. Here is my Douceur Chocolat.

DSC_0020

DSC_0019

DSC_0021

2 responses to “IP 18 Douceur Chocolat

  1. Thanks Stephanie! Of course I had to go check out your Douceur Chocolat on your blog :P. Really cool take on the montage of the cake!I The montage we were taught was a little too similar to the Marquise au Chocolat cake we did a couple of lessons earlier, in my opinion. You can’t see inside mine, but it still has all of the same components as yours, from the milk chocolate disks to the hazelnut praline & feuilletine.

Leave a comment